SB: Chapter 6

Qiu Qiu deleted his uncle’s chat record before returning the phone to his father and showing him how to use WeChat.

His father said in a displeased way, “why did you make my user name “Old Qiu?” It’s too unsophisticated. In this day and age when surfing on the internet, no one would choose a username like this…”

“Dad, we don’t use the term surfing for the internet anymore.”

“……”

Once children have grown up, they’ll talk back. Father Qiu angrily changed his username to “I am Old Qiu,” and set up his profile picture with a one-inch image. Once everything was ready, Father Qiu sent a request for a video chat to Mama Qiu.

On their side, it was currently the afternoon, but on Mama Qiu’s side, it was already in the middle of the night. However, the video call only rang once before it was accepted. While this pair of old, thirty-year-long lovers were not like new head-over-heels lovers who spoke disgustingly cheesy words, their interactions were sweet beyond comparison.

Husband and wife addressed each other as “teacher;” Father Qiu was Teacher Qiu and Mama Qiu was Teacher Dong.

Teacher Qiu took out his most recent essays for Teacher Dong to examine and Teacher Dong sent Teacher Qiu an English poem, investing the feeling of their married-couple longing from abroad.

Qiu Qiu was sitting on a chair to the side and his hand wasn’t idle as he noted down something in his small notebook laptop.

Mama Qiu, who had good eyes and saw this, said, “Qiu Qiu, if you need to do homework, go back to the house to do it. Don’t let your dad and I distract you with our chat.”

Qiu Qiu said, “I’m not doing homework. I’m writing down your words of love. Later, I’ll say it for my partner [1] to hear.”

If this matter wasn’t mentioned it would’ve been fortunate. Once this matter was mentioned, Father Qiu had something to say, “That’s right, the other day I ran into your Literature Department’s Professor Wang. He said you had recently gotten a girlfriend. Why did you not bring her back for dad to see?”

Their family of three were all alumni. Father Qiu and Professor Wang used to be classmates, and it was said that the two of them were ‘twin geniuses’ of a famous school. A decade passed, and these two geniuses’ hairlines receded and waistlines distended.

Qiu Qiu’s heart trembled. He lowered his head and said, “……busted.”

Mama Qiu hurriedly said, “never mind, it’s alright. Feelings cannot be forced. My son has such a handsome face, there’s no partner he can’t find.”

Father Qiu quickly changed the direction of his question. “You’re still a student. You have to concentrate on your studies. Being single is still good. ……that’s right, didn’t you say there was a rich and powerful person who wanted to privately sponsor your scholarship, and that you even recognized him as your second dad? Didn’t dad say to invite him over, how come you still haven’t brought him over?”

Qiu Qiu felt even more wronged. “……also busted.”

“Your girlfriend is gone, and your adoptive dad is gone too?”

Qiu Qiu couldn’t speak it out loud, and could only nod with a face of anxiety.

Mama Qiu blamed Father Qiu for mentioning the pot that didn’t boil. “Isn’t it just an adoptive father? My son has such a handsome face, there’s no adoptive father he can’t find.”

“Mom, you already said this a moment ago……”

“It’s not the same, not the same. Just a moment ago, I said partner. This time, I said adoptive father.”

……Actually, the core essence of it was the same, Teacher Dong.

Qiu Qiu hesitantly said, “that’s right, mom, there’s a matter I want to ask you.”

“Ask.”

“You…” Qiu Qiu gritted his teeth and forced out the words. “Truthfully tell me, from when I was a child to now you said that you helped me keep my red pocket money. Were you lying to me?”

Mama Qiu blanked out at first, but quickly caught on and said cheerfully, “since when was my son a little money grubber? Mama’s words can be trusted. Your mom never touched a cent of your red pocket money. It’s in mom’s bedroom safe. My son is grown up now, he should have his own private funds. In a bit, have your dad grab it for you.”

After the video call was over, Qiu Qiu returned to his room, delightedly clutching his red pocket money’s account book. 

His family’s financial situation was great. The red pocket money every year was considerable, and altogether there was fifty thousand thereabouts. He thought about it, then took a picture of the account book and sent it to old daddy.

Qiu as in Autumn: [Photo]jpg

Qiu as in Autumn: Look, this is the red pocket money my mom kept ever since.

Qiu as in Autumn: The money’s all here, not a single cent less.

Qiu as in Autumn: You’re the true scam. [angry]

Qiu as in Autumn: I can see you looking, ne.

Qiu as in Autumn: I invited Xiao Li to come see me tomorrow. I’m going to give this fifty thousand over to her. I thought about it, and I had been the one to mention breaking up first. I should’ve never promised to be with her to begin with, so I technically hold half this responsibility. I must carry it.

Qiu as in Autumn: Also, the other night I was sneezing the whole time. It must have been her missing me. [smile]

This time, Fu Ruien replied.

Dad as in Daddy: Wrong

Qiu as in Autumn: How is this wrong?

Dad as in Daddy: You didn’t sneeze because she missed you

Qiu as in Autumn: [curious] Then who was thinking about me?

Dad as in Daddy: You just had a cold

Qiu Qiu was very angry ah. He blacklisted daddy so daddy won’t ever be able to give Qiu Qiu’s Moments any likes.

Fu Ruien was also very angry ah. This foolish child unexpectedly wanted to give this fifty thousand to Xiao Li rather than come to the villa to redeem his guitar. This is just truly too disrespectful of his seniors.

By the time sugar daddy found out his sugar son blacklisted him, it was already a story for another day.


[1]: “对象” is “opposing likeness,” which is just a fancy way of saying boyfriend, girlfriend, spouse, etc. It’s not gender specific, so I just translated it as partner.

I’ll be too busy to post tomorrow, so take this now! m(。_。;))m

5 | Table of Contents | 7

3 thoughts on “SB: Chapter 6

  1. Hope your day went well! Thank you for the translations! You captured author’s humor very well, ahahah. And the notes, I learned a few things, thank you!
    Take care~

    Like

Leave a comment